Join Us


Through The National Lottery etc. Act 1993 (as amended), Parliament governs the operation and regulation of The National Lottery, and sets out National Lottery policy, including which Good Cause areas will benefit from National Lottery money and the funding levels for each.

The Department for Culture, Media & Sport (DCMS)

DCMS is the government department responsible for The National Lottery.

The Gambling Commission (formerly the National Lottery Commission)
The Gambling Commission is sponsored by DCMS, and is responsible for licensing and regulating The National Lottery.

12 National Lottery Distribution Bodies
Each of these has specialist knowledge of its sector and decides which beneficiaries should receive National Lottery funding.

The National Lottery Promotions Unit (NLPU)
The NLPU is a small team responsible for promoting positive public awareness of National Lottery funding and the projects it supports.

Over 43,000 retail partners
Spanning the length and breadth of the UK, ranging from small corner shops and newsagents to larger convenience stores and supermarkets – with independent outlets making up the majority of our retail estate.

Allwyn Group
Allwyn Group acquired Camelot in February 2023. Allwyn is a multi-national lottery operator – with leading market positions in Austria, the Czech Republic, Greece, Cyprus, the United Kingdom and Italy. Its ownership of Camelot will help facilitate a smooth transition as Allwyn UK becomes the operator of The National Lottery under the Fourth Licence from February 2024.